Manitoba.—For the organization of the Department of Health and Public Welfare of the Province, see p. 190. The Welfare Division of that Department has two broad subdivisions:—

- (1) Public Welfare Services and Assistance includes the administration of Mothers' Allowances throughout the Province, social assistance in the unorganized territory of the Province, and the care of transient non-residents. It also includes child care and protection services and the supervision of five Children's Aid Societies covering practically the whole Province. Grants to charitable institutions are made upon the recommendation of the Welfare Supervision Board. A Public Welfare Advisory Committee appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council in May, 1945, acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister on all aspects of public welfare.
- (2) Old Age Pensions and Pensions for the Blind. As at May 1, 1945, the Welfare Division assumed responsibility for the general administration of old age pensions and pensions for the blind. For statistics, see pp. 229-231.

Mothers' Allowances.—Manitoba was the first province to enact this type of legislation, the Act having come into force on Mar. 10, 1916. Statistics of operations are given on pp. 226-228.

Social Assistance.—This includes provision for unemployable and unemployed persons in unorganized territory and the maintenance of aged and incurable persons from unorganized territory in and outside institutions.

Workmen's Compensation.—The Workmen's Compensation Act came into force Jan. 1, 1917. See also Chapter XX on Labour.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Social Welfare is charged with the responsibility of administering all Acts concerning welfare which have been placed on the Statutes of the Province. The Department is divided into three main Branches:—

- (1) Child Welfare Branch.
- (2) Old Age Pensions Branch.
- (3) Social Aid Branch.

In addition, the Department is divided into the following Divisions: Administrative Division, Welfare Services Division, Mothers' Allowance Division, Home for the Infirm, and Industrial School for Boys.

The Social Welfare Board, which consists of the Directors of the three main Branches with the Deputy Minister as Chairman, deals with all applications for assistance under the various Acts administered by the Department.

Child Welfare.—This Branch supervises and directs the Child Welfare activities of the Province and deals mainly with delinquent children, wards, children of unmarried parents, orphaned and neglected children, education of blind children, foster homes, children's shelters, supervision of institutions, and adoptions.

A children's shelter is being operated by the Branch at the present time and another is in course of construction which will provide for the needs of orphaned and neglected Métis children in the northern and outlying districts of the Province. There are Children's Aid Societies in the three largest cities, two of which maintain shelters.